<% '**** Page Variables - volume variable is required, others are optional **** headerLogo = "ojhms" headerPhoto = "" headerMainTitle = "" authorName = "" authorTitle = "" bgTile = "" volume = "volume10" %>
2008 Harvard Combined Orthopaedic Program Residents / Fellows Graduation Dinner
The Park Plaza Hotel, Boston MA.
June 20, 2008


The 2008 Harvard Combined Orthopaedic Surgery Residency Program (HCORP) Graduation Reception and Dinner was held on June 20, 2008 at the Park Plaza Hotel. It was a beautiful event, attended by numerous residents, faculty, fellows, family members and friends. The evening began with cocktails and a slide-show of photos of the graduating class over their years in the program. After the reception, the attendees took their seats for dinner and the graduation ceremony.

Dr. James Herndon, Master of Ceremonies and Director of the Residency Program, welcomed everyone to the event. The Graduating Fellows of each of the hospitals were then acknowledged by their respective chairman, Drs.Mark Gebhardt, Thomas Thornhill, Harry Rubash and Peter Waters, who was representing Dr. James Kasser. In total, there were 43 graduating fellows this year.

The Osgood Visiting Professor, Dr. Vincent Pelligrini was then introduced by Dr. Herndon. Dr. Pellegrini is the James Lawrence Kernan Professor and Chair of the Department of Orthopaedics at the University of Maryland School of Medicine. His subspecialty interests include Hip and Knee Arthroplasty and Hand and Upper Extremity surgery. He applauded the graduating class of seniors for their outstanding thesis work and the quality of their presentations at Thesis Day. Dr. Pellegrini then announced the winners of this year’s Thesis Day Research Awards – Dr. Catherine Elizabeth Johnson for her work “A Retrospective Analysis of a Modified Peroneal Groove Deepening Technique for Chronic Peroneal Instability” and Dr. Robert Golden for his project entitled “Increased Fracture Severity in Workers’ Compensation Patients: An Etiology for Poorer Outcomes.”

The next award given for the night was a first for the HCORP graduation. This year the incoming Chief Residents, with the support of the residents in the program, created a Resident Teaching and Mentoring Award. The Award, voted on by all the residents in the program, is to be given to the Graduating Senior, selected by their peers, that has given the most back to other residents in the program as a teacher, mentor and advocate. In a fitting tribute to the Program’s outgoing Program Director, Dr. James Herndon, the Award will be known as the James H. Herndon Resident Teaching and Mentoring Award. This year’s winner was Dr. Mark Price. Dr. Price was selected by the other residents for this award given his outstanding commitment over his five years in the program to teaching and mentoring junior residents and medical students and for being a strong advocate for improvements in the educational aspects of the Program. Congratulations Mark!

The Class of 2008 then collectively took the stage for the announcement of the Golden Apple Award. The Golden Apple is given to the faculty member that the graduating class feels “contributed the most to resident education and provided inspirational leadership through outstanding dedication to patient care.” This year the Golden Apple was awarded to Dr. Timothy Bhattacharyya from the Partners Trauma Service. Dr. Bhattacharyya is known by all as an Attending who patiently guides residents through cases, who encourages residents to develop thorough surgical/treatment plans, and for providing residents with follow-up on patients months to years after a resident participated in the care of the patient. He encourages evidence-based decisions and resident responsibility in developing care plans. Congratulations Dr. Bhattacharyya!

The Graduating Class also thanked four very special people. Elizabeth Lynch, PA-C from the Brigham and Women’s Hospital was given a gift from the graduating class to thank her for all the work she does at the Brigham in coordinating care and discharges of inpatients. Anna Cipollone, our Assistant Residency Coordinator was acknowledged for the work that she does in helping the program run smoothly. Diane Sheehan, the beloved Residency Coordinator, was then brought forward and thanked for the tremendous work she does in making the residency program what it is and helping the residents navigate through during their five years in the program. Finally, the graduating class thanked Dr. Herndon for his many years of hard work on behalf of the residents. They made note of his wonderful mentorship and pointed out that he will truly be missed.

The Executive Committee Award for the Best OITE Scores over 4 Years was then announced by Dr. Peter Waters. This Award is given annually to the graduating senior with the highest Orthopaedic In-Training Examination (OITE) scores. This year’s Award recipient was Dr. Charles Petit. Dr. Petit is known and respected by his fellow residents as a man with great command of orthopaedic knowledge, his score of 100 on his most recent OITE certainly supports that observation!

Dr. Thomas Thornhill then announced the recipient of the William H. Thomas Award. This award, voted on by the faculty of the Brigham and Women’s Hospital, is awarded to the resident that “best exemplifies excellence in orthopaedics, devotion to patient care, collegiality and teamwork.” Dr. Thornhill then announced that the Brigham faculty, with approval of the Executive Committee, had selected Dr. Mark Price. Congratulations Mark!

Dr. Herndon then invited Dr. Price back to the stage and honored him for his work as Editor-in-Chief of the Orthopaedic Journal at Harvard Medical School. Dr. Price then announced the person to whom this year’s Journal would be dedicated. Traditionally dedicated to one member of the Harvard faculty, this year the journal was dedicated to Dr. Louis Meeks for his numerous years of service to the Harvard Orthopaedic Residency Program as a model teacher, mentor and friend. Generations of Harvard Residents have learned their basic arthroscopy skills and humanitarian ways from the teachings of Dr. Meeks. Dr. Meeks commented that being a teacher was his greatest love and was honored by the dedication.

The wonderful evening culminated in the reason for all being there - the graduation of a wonderfully talented group of residents. Drs. Rubash, Thornhill, Waters and Gebhardt introduced the members of the graduating class - sharing stories from residency, quoting embarrassing excerpts from their personal statements, and sharing some of their many accomplishments from both before and during residency - and presented them with their diplomas.

Congratulations to Class of 2008!