<% '**** Page Variables - volume variable is required, others are optional **** headerLogo = "ojhms" headerPhoto = "" headerMainTitle = "" authorName = "" authorTitle = "" bgTile = "" volume = "volume7" %>


The 2005 HCOR Graduation Reception and Dinner were held at the Fairmont Copley Plaza Hotel on June 17th, 2005. Numerous faculty, residents, fellows, family and friends were in attendance.

After a brief reception, which included an open bar, everyone made his or her way to the grand ballroom where beautifully arranged tables awaited the guests.

Dr. James Herndon served as the Master of Ceremonies. The evening started with the presentation of Senior Thesis Day Awards. Dr. Herndon thanked Dr. Frank Eismont for coming to Boston and being the Osgood Visiting Professor.

The Barrett Family Prize for the Best Basic Research Paper was awarded to Jeremy Moses. The Best Clinical Research Paper was presented to Dr. Travis Matheney.

Dr. Herndon, Michelle Barrett Dew (daughter of alumni resident and donator of funds, Jack Barett) and Dr. Frank Eismont presented the awards.

Next, Drs. Mark Gebhardt, Thomas Thornhill, James Kasser, and Andrew Freiberg announced the names of the graduating fellows.

This was followed by the announcement of the Golden Apple Award to Dr. David Lhowe. Dr. Lhowe was unable to attend the function on this night. However, the Class of 2005 went up as a group onto the stage to announce his name. Dr. Lhowe has been a great teacher and role model for generations of residents training in the Harvard program and was well deserving of this honor.

Next, Dr. Thomas Thornhill announced the winner of the William H. Thomas award. This award is given to a graduating resident who has excelled in his duties as an orthopaedic resident at the Brigham and Women’s Hospital. The faculty at the Brigham and Women’s Hospital votes to pick the winner. This year the winner was Dr. John Abraham.

Next, the editor in chief of the Orthopaedic Journal at Harvard Medical School was honored for his hard work. Dr. Herndon presented Dr. Raj Ahluwalia with a beautifully designed plaque.

Dr. Ahluwalia then announced the person to whom this journal would be dedicated. The announcement of Dr. Dennis Burke’s name was met with a thunderous applause by the audience. To present Dr. Burke with this award Dr. William Harris was called on the stage. Dr. Harris then read a short speech (which can be found in this journal).

To wrap up the evening, Drs. Thornhill, Gebhardt, Kasser and Freiberg introduced each graduating member and presented him or her with a diploma.