2007 Harvard Combined Orthopaedic Residency Graduation Reception and Dinner


The 2007 Harvard Combined Orthopaedic Surgery Residency Program (HCORP) Graduation Reception and Dinner was held on June 22, 2007 at the Fairmont Copley Hotel. It was a beautiful event, attended by numerous residents, faculty, fellows, family members and friends. The evening began with cocktails in the foyer with a slide-show of photos of the graduating class over their years in the program. After the reception, the attendees entered the Grand Ballroom for dinner and the graduation ceremony.

Dr. James Herndon, Master of Ceremonies and Director of the Residency Program, welcomed everyone to the event. The Graduating Fellows of each of the Hospitals were then acknowledged by their respective chairman, Drs. James Kasser, Mark Gebhardt, Thomas Thornhill and Harry Rubash. In total, there were 39 fellows this year.

The Osgood Visiting Professor, Dr. James F. Kellam was then introduced by Dr. Herndon. Dr. Kellam, a well-known Orthopaedic Traumatologist and senior staff at Carolinas Medical Center, took to the stage. He applauded the graduating class of seniors for their outstanding thesis work and the quality of their presentations at Thesis Day. Dr. Kellam lamented having to choose only two to award with the coveted research awards. In the end though, he presented an award to Dr. Alex Sah for his work “Dislocation Rate after Conversion of Hip Hemiarthroplasty to THA – Greater than First-time Revision THA” and the other to Dr. George Dyer for his thesis titled: “Improving evaluation of orthopaedic surgical teaching”.

The next awards given for the night were a first for the HCORP graduation. Dr. David Ring was brought to the stage to give out the evening’s “Special Award”. He called Dr. Max Soong, Dr. Michael Vazquez and Dr. Vazquez’s wife Karen to the stage. Dr. Ring acknowledged each of them for their outstanding commitment and musical contributions to the HCORP band “Rod the Long Bone”. All three had been active members of the band throughout their residency and had helped make RTLB the musical sensation (within the hospital community) that it had become.

The Class of 2007 then collectively approached the stage for the announcement of the Golden Apple Award. The Golden Apple – given to the faculty member that the graduating class feels “contributed the most to resident education and provided inspirational leadership through outstanding dedication to patient care” – was awarded to Dr. Daniel Estok from the Brigham and Women’s Hospital. His speech, like the man himself, was humble and gracious. Congratulations Dr. Estok on this welldeserved award!

The Graduating Class also thanked two very special people. Elizabeth Lynch, PA-C from the Brigham and Women’s Hospital was given a gift from the graduating class to thank her for all the work she does at the Brigham in coordinating discharges of inpatients. Diane Sheehan, the beloved Residency Coordinator, was then brought forward and thanked for the tremendous work she does in making the residency program what it is and helping the residents navigate through during their five years in the program. All the residents are thankful for the amazing dedication and hardwork of Diane Sheehan!

Dr. Thomas Thornhill then announced the recipient of the William H. Thomas Award. This award, voted on by the faculty of the Brigham and Women’s Hospital, is awarded to the resident that “best exemplifies excellence in orthopaedics, devotion to patient care, collegiality and teamwork”. Dr. Thornhill then acknowledged that there were many deserving recipients in this year’s class, but that the man that came out on top was Dr. George Sinclair Mitchell Dyer.

The Leonard Marmor Award was then announced by Dr. James Kasser. The Marmor award is given annually to the graduating senior with the highest Orthopaedic In-Training Examination (OITE) scores. This year’s Marmor Award recipient was Dr. Alex Sah.

Dr. Herndon then invited Dr. George Dyer back to the stage and honored him for his work as Editor-in-Chief of the Orthopaedic Journal at Harvard Medical School. Dr. Dyer then announced the persons to whom this year’s Journal would be dedicated. Traditionally dedicated to one member of the Harvard faculty, this year the journal has been dedicated to two – Drs. John Emans and Michael Millis from Children’s Hospital. Dr. Peter Waters had been asked to write the dedication (which appears at the beginning of the journal) and he came to the podium to share his dedication with the audience. It was a moving tribute to two truly amazing doctors.

The wonderful evening culminated in the real reason for all being there – the graduation of a wonderfully talented group of residents. Drs. Rubash, Thornhill, Kasser and Gebhardt introduced the members of the graduating class – sharing stories from residency, quoting embarrassing excerpts from their personal statements, telling stories they dug up from when they were younger – and presented them with their diplomas. The class of graduating seniors will be missed. Congratulations to all of you, the final class of 10…Congratulations Class of 2007!

OJHMS Home • Instructions to Authors • Letter from the Editor • Advertisers Info • Dedication • Manuscripts

The Orthopaedic Journal at Harvard Medical School is an annual publication
of the Harvard Combined Orthopaedic Residency Program. Copies are distributed
free of charge and the entire volume can be viewed here on our website.

To add your name to our mailing list and for any other correspondence please contact us at:

The Orthopaedic Journal at Harvard Medical School
Massachusetts General Hospital, White 535,     55 Fruit Street, Boston, MA 02114
e-mail: ojhms@partners.org    •    phone: 617-726-2942    •    fax: 617-726-3124

Copyright © Orthopaedic Journal at Harvard Medical School. All rights reserved.

Hosted by: Web Results Inc.