2010 Harvard Combined Orthopaedic Surgery Residency Program Graduation Reception and Dinner
The Park Plaza Hotel, Boston MA.
June 18, 2010


The 2010 Harvard Combined Orthopaedic Surgery Residency Program (H.C.O.R.P.) Graduation Reception and Dinner was held on June 18, 2010 at the Boston Park Plaza Hotel. The evening was filled with half a decade's worth of memories from residents, faculty, fellows, family, and friends. The night started with an intimate cocktail reception where people shared stories and met the families of those who have been so pivotal in their experience.

After the attendees advanced into the banquet hall, Dr. Dempsey Springfield, Master of Ceremonies, introduced the Osgood Visiting Professor, Dr. James Weinstein, M.S., D.O., and congratulated the graduating H.C.O.R.P. class of 2010. Dr. Weinstein presented the Thesis Day awards to Nikki Fetter, M.D. for her clinical science research which documented local variations in opioid usage and to Arnold Alqueza, M.D. for his basic science research in the cartilage of mice.

Additional awards were given to Timothy Crall, M.D. for the highest cumulative Orthopaedic In-Training Examination score and the to Arnold Alqueza, M.D. for the being a role model and resident mentor to his junior residents as voted on by the residents.

The residents voiced their appreciation for the hard work of Diane Sheehan, Ronnie Price, and Beth Lynch, P.A.-C. and lauded the impact that their efforts have had on their training experiences.

Dr. Thomas Thornhill then took the stage along with Dr. William H. Thomas for the presentation of the William H. Thomas Award. The William H. Thomas award is voted on by the faculty of the Brigham and Women's Hospital to recognize the resident that "best exemplifies excellence in orthopaedics, devotion to patient care, collegiality and teamwork." Dr. Arnold Alqueza won this year's award.

Dr. Darren Lebl, Editor-in-Chief of the Orthopaedic Journal at Harvard Medical School received his Editors Award from Dr. Springfield and then honored Kirkham Wood, M.D. with this year's O.J.H.M.S. dedication. Dr. Christopher Bono, M.D. authored this year's journal dedication.

Keeping with tradition, Drs. Rubash, Thornhill, Kasser, Waters, and Gebhardt then presented each graduate one-byone and had them up to the stage to receive their diplomas. Their presentations touched on personal stories, humorous excerpts from their personal statements, and stories from their younger days that their families have shared. The entire extended Harvard Orthopaedic family then joined in one final warm congratulations for the class of 2010.

Congratulations to Class of 2010!

OJHMS Home • Instructions to Authors • Letter from the Editor • Advertisers Info • Dedication • Manuscripts

The Orthopaedic Journal at Harvard Medical School is an annual publication
of the Harvard Combined Orthopaedic Residency Program. Copies are distributed
free of charge and the entire volume can be viewed here on our website.

To add your name to our mailing list and for any other correspondence please contact us at:

The Orthopaedic Journal at Harvard Medical School
Massachusetts General Hospital, White 535,     55 Fruit Street, Boston, MA 02114
e-mail: ojhms@partners.org    •    phone: 617-726-2942    •    fax: 617-726-3124

Copyright © Orthopaedic Journal at Harvard Medical School. All rights reserved.

Hosted by: Web Results Inc.